TRAVEL RESOURCES Glacier National Park & Western Montana

TRAVEL RESOURCES

Enter today for a chance to win monthly prizes in Western Montana’s Glacier Country.

Enter today for a chance to win monthly prizes in Western Montana’s Glacier Country.

More Links to Help You Plan Your Montana Vacation

In Montana, we like to roam free off the beaten path. But we also understand the value of planning ahead. Whether you’re already here, on your way or still making a game plan, below are some links and resources—like local newspapers, chambers and visitor bureaus—to help answer your travel questions and provide you with Montana tourist information to make your trip exactly what you had in mind, and more.

Sled the Burn in Montana This Winter

Seeley Lake, Ovando and Lincoln are preparing for an epic year of snowmobiling and sled skiing with thousands of acres of densely forested land burned by wildfires now wide open for winter play. Enter to win one of three vacation packages.


Tourist Information:

Crown of the Continent 406.862.6793 crownofthecontinent.net
Discover Kalispell 406.758.2800 discoverkalispell.com
Glacier National Park 406.888.7800 nps.gov/glac
Glacier-Waterton International Peace Park   pc.gc.ca
Destination Missoula Convention and Visitor Bureau 800.526.3465 destinationmissoula.org
State of Montana 406.444.2511 mt.gov
Montana Office of Tourism 800.847.4868 visitmt.com
Whitefish Convention and Visitors Bureau 877.862.3548 explorewhitefish.com

Montana Chamber of Commerce (by Tier):

Montana Chamber of Commerce 406.443.7888 montanachamber.com

Northern Tier

Bigfork Chamber of Commerce 406.837.5888 bigfork.org
Columbia Falls Area Chamber of Commerce 406.892.2072 columbiafallschamber.com
Cut Bank Area Chamber of Commerce 406.873.4041 cutbankchamber.com
Eureka Area Chamber of Commerce 406.889.4636 welcome2eureka.com
Hot Springs Chamber of Commerce 406.741.2662 hotspringsmtchamber.org
Kalispell Area Chamber of Commerce and Convention & Visitors Bureau 406.758.2803 discoverkalispell.com
Lakeside-Somers Chamber of Commerce 406.844.3715 lakesidesomers.org
Libby Area Chamber of Commerce 406.293.4167 libbychamber.org
Mineral County Chamber of Commerce - Superior 406.822.4891 montanarockies.org
Plains Business Association 406.544.8493 plains-mt.org
Polson Chamber of Commerce 406.883.5969 polsonchamber.com
Swan Lake Chamber of Commerce 406.886.2303 swanlakemontana.org
Troy Chamber of Commerce 406.295.1064 troymtchamber.org
Whitefish Chamber of Commerce 406.862.3501 whitefishchamber.org

Southern Tier

Bitterroot Valley Chamber of Commerce 406.363.2400 bitterrootchamber.com
Destination Missoula Convention and Visitor Bureau 800.526.3465 destinationmissoula.org
Missoula Area Chamber of Commerce 406.543.6623 missoulachamber.com
Seeley Lake Area Chamber of Commerce 406.677.2880 seeleylakechamber.com
Ronan Chamber of Commerce 406.676.8300 ronanchamber.com
St. Ignatius Chamber of Commerce 406.745.4462 stignatiusmt.com
Thompson Falls Chamber of Commerce 406.827.4930 thompsonfallschamber.com
St. Regis Visitor Information Center 406.649.2290  

Additional Information

Blackfeet Indian Reservation 406.338.7521 blackfeetcountry.com
Blackfoot Challenge 406.793.3900 blackfootchallenge.org
Bureau of Land Management 202.208.3801 blm.gov/montana-dakotas
Clark Fork Coalition 406.542.0539 clarkfork.org
Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes 406.675.2700 cskt.org
Department of Natural Resources and Conservation 406.444.2074 dnrc.mt.gov
Fly Fishing Montana glaciertoyellowstone.com
Flathead Avalanche Center 406.257.8402 flatheadavalanche.org
Glacier Park Inc. 888.238.1130 glacierparkinc.com
Humane Society of Western Montana 406.549.3934 myhswm.org
Ice Age Floods Institute 971.263.6479 iafi.org
Montana Department of Transportation 800.335.7592 mdt.mt.gov
Montana Dude Rancher's Association 888.284.4133 montanadra.com
Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks 406.444.2535 fwp.mt.gov
Montana Historical Society 406.444.2694 mhs.mt.gov/
Montana Historical Society Preservation Board 406.444.7715 mhs.mt.gov/shpo
Montana In Business 406.523.5213 mtinbusiness.com
Montana Kids 800.847.4868 montanakids.com
Montana Magazine 888.666.8624 montanamagazine.com
Montana Natural History Center 406.327.0405 montananaturalist.org
Montana State Parks 406.444.3750 stateparks.mt.gov
Sustainable Living Systems 406.642.3601 sustainablelivingsystems.org
University of Montana 406.243.0211 umt.edu
US Forest Service 800.832.1355 fs.fed.us
Western Montana Fair 406.721.3247 missoulafairgrounds.com/western-montana-fair/
Western Montana Mycological Association facebook.com/Western-Montana-Mycological-Association
Western Montana National Railway Historical Society mtnwestrail.com/wmnrhs

Newspapers

Bigfork Eagle bigforkeagle.com
Bitterroot Star bitterrootstar.com
Char-Koosta News charkoosta.com
Cut Bank Pioneer Press cutbankpioneerpress.com
Daily Inter Lake dailyinterlake.com
Flathead Beacon flatheadbeacon.com
Glacier Reporter glacierreporter.com
Hungry Horse News hungryhorsenews.com
Lively Times livelytimes.com
Missoulian missoulian.com
Missoula Independent missoulanews.com
Montana Kaimin, University of Montana montanakaimin.com
Ravalli Republic ravallirepublic.com
Tobacco Valley News tobaccovalleynews.com
Veterans' Voice of Montana, The mtvetsvoice.com
Western News, The thewesternnews.com
Whitefish Pilot whitefishpilot.com

Discover

More Links & Resources to help you plan your Montana vacation

Western Montana's Glacier Country

News from Glacier National Park: Currently 16.5 miles of the Going-to-the-Sun Road are open for travel.

Bird Woman Falls

An icon in Glacier National Park, Bird Woman Falls is a glistening 492-foot-high waterfall that cascades down the side of Mt. Oberlin. From West Glacier, travel the Going-to-the-Sun Road to Bird Woman Falls Overlook, located on the west side of the Continental Divide.

Trail of the Cedars

This short boardwalk trail (ADA accessible) takes visitors through an old growth cedar forest. It’s also the beginning of the Avalanche Lake Trail (just over two miles long) that leads to Avalanche Lake—one of the most popular day hikes in Glacier National Park. Trail of the Cedars is located about five and a half miles north of Lake McDonald Lodge.

Drive the Going-to-the-Sun Road

If your time in Glacier National Park is limited, one must-see attraction is the Going-to-the-Sun Road. This 50-mile long road takes travelers between St. Mary and West Glacier through the heart of the park, crossing the Continental Divide at Logan Pass. There are numerous pullouts along the road, ideal for taking photographs and enjoying the scenery.

See a Glacier

As you’re traveling the Going-to-the-Sun Road, pull over at Jackson Glacier Overlook (located east of Logan Pass). The overlook offers the best opportunity to see a glacier from the road.

Many Glacier Valley

Home to incredible mountains, active glaciers, abundant wildlife and miles of hiking trails, Many Glacier is located in the northeast section of Glacier National Park. Trails leave from this valley in numerous directions, with popular hiking destinations including Iceberg Lake, Grinnell Lake and Ptarmigan Tunnel.

You might also like...